This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Help? How to run load tests with dynamic parameters in 2014.2

19 Answers 175 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Gregory
Top achievements
Rank 1
Gregory asked on 19 Jun 2014, 06:55 PM
I am trying to run a load test in version 2014.2.  The issue I am currently having is, the application submits an authorization token (which is pulled from the product's database) for just about everything.  This token changes each time a user logs in to the web page.  Since it is randomly generated, there is no way for me to put a bunch of tokens in a datasheet and bind to the load test.  Currently, the load tests gets a lot of 403 - Forbidden errors, which is understandable.

I am fairly new to Load Testing with test studio.  Is there a better way to do this?  I am recording a new session and capturing the HTTP traffic (as opposed to running an existing functional test).  Maybe I'm just doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance!

19 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Cody
Telerik team
answered on 24 Jun 2014, 04:03 PM
Hello Gregory,

The key thing to keep in mind about Test Studio load tests is that they operate directly at the HTTP level. With this in mind we need to understand exactly where in the HTTP request this authorization token is put.

It would also be good to know how it works normally in a web browser. How does the web browser get the current token in order to echo it back on subsequent requests? Obviously the web browser can't make direct SQL queries to obtain it. So how would it do it? Knowing this we should be able to adapt the load test to be able to replicate this behavior.

Regards,
Cody
Telerik

The New Release of Telerik Test Studio Is Here! Download, install,
and send us your feedback!
Gregory
Top achievements
Rank 1
answered on 24 Jun 2014, 06:21 PM
Cody,