Handle Logon dialog problem

5 posts, 0 answers
  1. Clive
    Clive avatar
    21 posts
    Member since:
    Sep 2010

    Posted 25 May 2011 Link to this post

    Hi,
    I need to log on to windows as different users, but the Handle logon dialog step only enters the password for the current user.
    In the Windows operating system logon box (Net logon) I've recorded clicking 'Use another account', then entering the new userid and password, and ticking the 'Remember my credentials' checkbox, but twhen played back the Handle logon dialog step still only enters the password, so I can't change user.

    Is there a way round this?

    Thanks

    Clive
  2. Clive
    Clive avatar
    21 posts
    Member since:
    Sep 2010

    Posted 25 May 2011 Link to this post

    Hi,
    I've just found a reply to a similar problem which has worked fine.
    Clive
  3. Ravi Prakash
    Ravi Prakash avatar
    4 posts
    Member since:
    Apr 2012

    Posted 24 Apr 2012 Link to this post

    Hi Clive,

    I have exactly the same issue. Can you suggest me the solution that worked for you?

    Telerikers,

    Is there any straight solution or work-around for this? Using Logon Dialog handlers is not solving the issue.

    Thanks,
    Ravi
  4. Clive
    Clive avatar
    21 posts
    Member since:
    Sep 2010

    Posted 24 Apr 2012 Link to this post

    Hi Ravi,

     

    I solved it by removing saved credentials in Windows. Try this:

     

    Go to Control Panel > User Accounts> Manage Credentials.

    Then select Remove from vault.

     

    This means you’ll always have to enter a userid and password, but that was good for other projects as it turned out.

     

    Hope it works for you.

     

    Clive

  5. Ravi Prakash
    Ravi Prakash avatar
    4 posts
    Member since:
    Apr 2012

    Posted 25 Apr 2012 Link to this post

    Hi Clive,

    Thanks for that information. It helped.

    Users have to take care to not to choose 'Remember my credentials' again. Else, this would again create the vault and show the screen with previous login user and other user options.

    Or whenever the tests involving these logon are run, user needs to clear the vault beforehand for this test to run. (Some way to remember this, should be managed.)

    Thanks again,
    Ravi
Back to Top