This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

How do I start Report Designer in VS 2013?

4 Answers 300 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Don
Top achievements
Rank 1
Don asked on 19 Jun 2014, 05:59 PM
I am brand new to Telerik and focused on learning both HTMLChart and the ReportViewer for reporting in an ASP.NET web site. Got a simple HTMLChart working first day.  Now I want to learn the reporting side using the report-designer tools. I have come to conclusion that reports using the designer should be built using the design environment within VS 2013 (although I was able to display a simple, no parameters report from a .trdx file by using UriReportSource()). However, I cannot figure out how to get the report designer started in VS 2013.

The link below says to click on or right-mouse "report.cs". However, I don't have a report.cs file in my project. Any thoughts? What am I missing? I have installed both the DevCraft AJAX UI and Reporting using the "Control Panel" from Telerik. All of the tools are there. But no option to start the report designer in the Telerik menu.

- VS 2013
- Latest Telerik build Q2 2014 as of yesterday.
- Windows 8.1

http://www.telerik.com/help/reporting/ui-report-designer.html

TIA
Don

4 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Don
Top achievements
Rank 1
answered on 20 Jun 2014, 02:36 PM
I found the answer on my own. I was trying to create a report library in a "WebSite" but the option to choose a Telerik Report does not appear when "adding a new item". Apparently, you "must" be using a "Web Application" before this option appears. I think this may be due to the report needing to be in its own class library that can be compiled to a DLL and not a source file in the App_Code folder compiled at run-time which is the case with a "WebSite" project. Now at least I can move forward with learning.