This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Grid cells are showing HTML tags with version 2020.2.617.45

5 Answers 100 Views
Grid
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Michael
Top achievements
Rank 1
Iron
Michael asked on 02 Jul 2020, 06:28 AM

Hi,

we are currently trying to migrate our Web application from Telerik controls version 2014.2.724.40 to version 2020.2.617.45. In our code we create GridBoundColumns using

column = new GridBoundColumn{DataFormatString = "<nobr>{0}</nobr>"};

Now when running the application with version 2020.2.617.45 the <nobr> tags show up in the grid cells, whereas they do not when using version 2014.2.724.40. In the attached picture the above grid is with version 2014.2.724.40 and the lower with version 2020.2.617.45.

What am I missing?

Thanks,

Michael

5 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Michael
Top achievements
Rank 1
Iron
answered on 03 Jul 2020, 12:39 PM

Update:

I started playing with the Telerik samples and there the above described effect does not occur.

Then I stripped our code down to fill only those properties of the GridBoundColumn that appear in the Telerik samples. After some trying I found out that we set GridBoundColumn.HtmlEncode to true in our code and if I comment out that statement the cell values display fine.

I tried to set GridBoundColumn.HtmlEncode to true also in the Telerik samples, but it did not have the same (negative) effect as it does in our code

Accepted
Doncho
Telerik team
answered on 06 Jul 2020, 02:48 PM

Hi Michael,

You have found the right solution to the issue!

The HtmlEncode property is exposed for controlling if the HTML tags should be applied as HTML elements or to be literally displayed. By default, its value is set to false.

Setting the HtmlEncode to 'true' will result in tags displayed as plain text in the Grid cell, like ("<b>Name 1</b>"). If set to false the same cell content would look like "Name 1".