Bullet points

9 posts, 0 answers
  1. Julian
    Julian avatar
    11 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2011

    Posted 21 Aug 2013 Link to this post

    I was looking at my old version of the editor. These steps:

    1. Add this to HTML view

    a<br>
    b<br>
    c<br>

    2. Switch to Design view. And then highlight the text (Ctrl+A)
    3. Click the bullet list.
    4. The generated HTML was

    <ul><li><span style="line-height: 1.5;">a</span></li><li><span style="line-height: 1.5;">b</span></li><li><span style="line-height: 1.5;">c</span></li></ul>

    But, in the latest version, the HTML generated is 

    <ul><li>a<br>
    b<br>
    c</li></ul>

    So, the logic of the bullet points has changed. How can I add a bullet list to selected text (as done previously) in the new version.

    Thanks.
  2. Mike
    Mike avatar
    8 posts
    Member since:
    May 2011

    Posted 21 Aug 2013 Link to this post

    Yes I am having the same problem
  3. Julian
    Julian avatar
    11 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2011

    Posted 21 Aug 2013 Link to this post

    Actually, I think this is due to HTML5. Is there a setting to override HTML5?
  4. Ianko
    Admin
    Ianko avatar
    1940 posts

    Posted 26 Aug 2013 Link to this post

    Hello All,

    The described behavior indeed is due to changed functionality of the list insertion in the current version.

    You could follow these articles for more information and possible solutions:
      
    Regards,
    Ianko
    Telerik
    If you want to get updates on new releases, tips and tricks and sneak peeks at our product labs directly from the developers working on the RadControls for ASP.NET AJAX, subscribe to the blog feed now.
  5. Steven
    Steven avatar
    4 posts
    Member since:
    Nov 2010

    Posted 03 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    It appears the change to bullets is now completely broken when used in a table.

    Add this html to the editor:
    <table>
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td>&nbsp;</td><td>&nbsp;</td>
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    </table>


    Switch to Design and then place the cursor in any cell, add a bullet. Invalid HTML is generated with the td tag being replaced.

    <table>
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <ul>
    <li></li>
    </ul>
    <td>&nbsp;</td>
    </tr></tbody>
    </table>

    I have now reverted back to an older version.
  6. Ianko
    Admin
    Ianko avatar
    1940 posts

    Posted 04 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    Hello Steven,

    This problem is known and it is already fixed, so with the official release of RadControls Q3 2013 the insertion of lists in a table cell will be working as expected.  

    Regards,
    Ianko
    Telerik
    If you want to get updates on new releases, tips and tricks and sneak peeks at our product labs directly from the developers working on the RadControls for ASP.NET AJAX, subscribe to the blog feed now.
  7. Steven
    Steven avatar
    4 posts
    Member since:
    Nov 2010

    Posted 05 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    Thanks Ianko. I saw the bug report (and also had added a comment to it). The status as or right now is still showing "Approved", so one would assume that is isn't fixed. Might be a good idea to change the status or add a comment to the bug report. Is this fixed in the latest internal build for download? Version notes don't appear to mention it.
  8. Ianko
    Admin
    Ianko avatar
    1940 posts

    Posted 09 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    Hi Steven,

    Currently this bug fix is on testing process in our development line and is not placed on any internal build.

    The fix is going to be ready and officially released in RadControls Q3 2013, which will be available in the middle of October 2013.

    The status of the feedback item will be changed when it is entirely finished with the development process and ready for release.

    Regards,
    Ianko
    Telerik
    If you want to get updates on new releases, tips and tricks and sneak peeks at our product labs directly from the developers working on the RadControls for ASP.NET AJAX, subscribe to the blog feed now.
  9. LePaul
    LePaul avatar
    5 posts
    Member since:
    Jun 2013

    Posted 28 Jan 2014 in reply to Ianko Link to this post

    First link is broken. Correct link is: http://www.telerik.com/support/kb/aspnet-ajax/details/inserting-lists-indenting-outdenting-and-justify-a-single-line

    In short: the problem with bullet lists, in- outdent, justify etc. lies in the browser behavior. They produce quite different HTML sometimes. The link above provides a workaround.
Back to Top