This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Error creating control

6 Answers 122 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Laura
Top achievements
Rank 1
Laura asked on 27 Mar 2009, 06:32 PM
I have a pretty large project that I have been working on for a few months. All of the sudden today, I get errors on all my telerik controls in design mode. I am using 2008 Q3, and have been using it since it came out. This is one of the errors:

Error Creating Control - RadAjaxManager1'AjaxSettings' could not be initialized. Details: [A]Telerik.Web.UI.RadAjaxManager cannot be cast to [B]Telerik.Web.UI.RadAjaxManager. Type A originates from 'Telerik.Web.UI, Version=2008.3.1125.35, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=121fae78165ba3d4' in the context 'LoadNeither' at location 'C:\Documents and Settings\lgrella2\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\ProjectAssemblies\-wd3emyp01\Telerik.Web.UI.dll'. Type B originates from 'Telerik.Web.UI, Version=2008.3.1125.35, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=121fae78165ba3d4' in the context 'LoadNeither' at location 'C:\Documents and Settings\lgrella2\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\VisualStudio\9.0\ProjectAssemblies\zfmhnqph01\telerik.web.ui.dll'.

I did not upgrade telerik or anything else on the machine, but all controls in many pages in my project have a similar error. That leads me to believe my web.config file is wrong. The lines referring to telerik in the web.config are:

<add path="Telerik.Web.UI.WebResource.axd" type="Telerik.Web.UI.WebResource, Telerik.Web.UI, Version=2008.3.1125.35, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=121fae78165ba3d4" verb="*" validate="false"/>

and

<add name="Telerik_Web_UI_WebResource_axd" verb="*" preCondition="integratedMode" path="Telerik.Web.UI.WebResource.axd" type="Telerik.Web.UI.WebResource, Telerik.Web.UI, Version=2008.3.1125.35, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=121fae78165ba3d4"/>

How do I fix this?