This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Practical deployment with VS2010 Copy Web

5 Answers 67 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Tomica
Top achievements
Rank 2
Tomica asked on 15 May 2011, 10:19 PM
I've been using the RAD AJAX controls for many years.

I develop the project on my local machine (as IIS 7.5 web-site) and then copy to the client's live web-site with a standard FTP connection. I use the built-in Copy Website function within VS2010. Everything works slick,

Now, following your recommendations, I have had to add a class library to allow creation and editing of reports.

What is the recommended method for getting that class library to the production server?

I realize this might be a simple, elementary procedure that I am "supposed to know", but until now, just the web copy has been the most productive method of deployment. Therefore, I don't even know what search terms to use, so please give me a few hints to start.

Alternatively, I have found that I can create the reports, and when finished, copy them from the local class library to my App_Code directory, and with a few adjustments, run them on the production server. But at least deployment is simplified.

Does anybody else run into these complications?

5 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Steve
Telerik team
answered on 19 May 2011, 09:27 AM
Hi Tom,

As explained in the Best Practices help article, "MyReportLib" which is the class library containing Telerik Reports should be referenced in the web site in order to use the reports. Once you reference it, when you build the web site, the class library would be compiled to a dll into its bin folder. Thus, the reports now part of a compiled assembly are available for use and this assembly should be copied from the Copy WebSite feature as well. For more information, see How to: Add a Reference to a .NET or COM Component in a Web Site.

Kind regards,
Steve