Yes, this is by design. When a column is deleted, we unmap the corresponding property from the column, but we do not delete it because you might have made some changes there. Additionally, you may want to map it later to another column from the Mapping Details Editor.
If you do not want to use this property, just delete it from the class. Hope that helps.
the Telerik team