The data entered is lost when you change to any other page and come back again to the first one. (version Q2 2011.2.914)
For example, gMail lets you mark checkboxes for deleting items and your selected items are there wherever they are when paging.
Telerik samples shows an alert when you change the page advicing you have changed data, but this is not a suitable solution for us.
Is this fixed in release Q3?
8 Answers, 1 is accepted
Actually, there isn't anything to fix in this case - this is not a bug, but how the Grid works by design. We can improve the logic in such scenario and implement different mechanism, but this would happen in the future.
All the best,
Georgi Tunev
the Telerik team
It's a very strange design, of course. I don't know why this design wants to lose the data when you page forward or back.
Does it mean that editing a grid is incompatible with paging? We do need a solution.
We should much appreciate it if you could give a workaround.
In my previous reply I was referring to the logic implemented in the recent releases, that raises a confirmation dialog if the user changes the page before saving the data - I apologize for any misunderstanding that might occurred. Currently this is the only solution available.
As I previously said, we will try to improve the logic in the future releases, but this will take time and at this point I cannot tell when exactly the logic will be changed.
Georgi Tunev
the Telerik team
It's been a few months since I wrote this thread and I'm still wondering if you are considering the matter in next relase. I've read other threads with the same problem in the forum.
I've checked that change log is also lost not only when paging but the user changes the filter of a column after editing rows.
This issue is very critical for us. Appreciate any help.
The functionality discussed here, is not scheduled for the next release (Q1 2012 which will appear this month). It is still in our ToDo list but it will be implemented on a later stage.
Georgi Tunev
the Telerik team
Could you give a more specific date?
I have been reviewing telerik's code and databound function expressly clears the changeLog of the grid in telerik.grid.editing.js:
$(grid.element).bind('dataBound', function () {
grid.changeLog.clear();
grid.valid = true;
grid.td = null;
});
I've commented this line but it has not worked as expected.
Do you have a workaround while we wait for an upcoming official service pack?
Yours faithfully
Oscar.
I'm afraid that I can't be more specific about the time frame. As I said, we will implement such feature in the future, but we don't have a release date for it.
As for the code that you checked, that logic works in a different way, so calling the clear() method won't preserve the changes - it was never intended to work that way. Again, currently there is no workaround.
Georgi Tunev
the Telerik team
What grid.changeLog.clear() makes is precisely to delete the changes entered by the user. I want to avoid this.
There is workaround: kendo ui doesn't have this issue. You can change cells, then paging, and your changes are still there.
I will try to migrate my telerik mvc grids to kendo ui grids, although I'm afraid of not all the telerik mvc grid features are implemented in kendo ui grid.
Thank you for your help, Georgi.