This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Hierarchical GridView

1 Answer 86 Views
GridView
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
JJ
Top achievements
Rank 1
JJ asked on 19 Jun 2011, 07:40 PM
I am new to Silverlight.

I watched the demo of "Custom Hierarchy Template". I don't see anywhere defines order and details relationship.
If I have 2 separate class (recordset), one for orders, one for details. I assume somewhere in the GridViewTableDefinition needs to define the relationship between 2 tables and also which field (orderid in order class) in parents table relates to which field (orderid in details table) in child table.

<telerik:RadGridView.ChildTableDefinitions>
                <telerik:GridViewTableDefinition />
            </telerik:RadGridView.ChildTableDefinitions>

Why I don't see it's there. How do we know ues which order id pulls the order detail child grid for this order? 
Shoud it add the relationship under  <telerikData:TableRelation.FieldNames> like the self reference example?

Where is the code you get the orders and details class collection? I don't understand why the data can come without specify the relationship.

I used Ajax radgrid before, when i used ajax radgrid, I got details recordset under Radgrid1_DetailTableDataBind, query on detail table by passing dataItem.GetDataKeyValue("ID") from parent grid. Should I do the similar thing in Silverlight radgridview? I am using mvvm for the radgridview. Is it possible  that you can give me a detailed example for how to set the relationship between order and detail to serve the radgrid in this case?

Thanks,

1 Answer, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Vlad
Telerik team
answered on 20 Jun 2011, 06:51 AM
Hi,