When the Edit Appointment dialog is opened the corresponding appointment is put in edit mode, regardless of it being read-only or not. When you are closing the dialog, if the appointment is read-only, the edit is cancelled, hence there is no Edited event (because there was no editing). This is the expected behavior.
Why do you need to use the AppointmentEditing/Edited events?
the Telerik team
Register for the Q2 2011 What's New Webinar Week. Mark your calendar for the week starting July 18th and book your seat for a walk through of all the exciting stuff we will ship with the new release!