This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

OA / VS2010 / SQL CE 4.0 Error?

2 Answers 23 Views
Integration with other products
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
This question is locked. New answers and comments are not allowed.
Brian Azzi
Top achievements
Rank 2
Brian Azzi asked on 14 Feb 2013, 08:30 PM
Hey guys... I'm really new to OA & am trying to get a feel for using it in a simple situation with a small web app & a local SQL CE 4.0 database.

I've set up a basic model in my project, and have loaded it from the DB (which has one simple table). This all looks fine, and I can then proceed and add an OpenAccess LINQ DataSource. 

Great, looks like I'm setup. : )   Now here is my problem:

If I go to the EntityModel (I just called it that by default), in the OA Model Explorer I can right click on the model and choose to "Update from Database...". When I do this, the OA dialog comes up but contains the following error every time (in the Choose Schemas dialog):

"Unable to retrieve the database schema information. Reason: Could not load type 'System.Data.SqlServerCe.SqlCeException' from assembly 'Microsoft.SqlServerCe.Client, Version=3.5.0.0, Culture=neutral...." etc. etc.

This appears to indicate that it's trying to use the 3.5 assemblies rather than 4.0? (I didn't install SQL CE 3.5 at all)...

So.. to update my schema, I've had to recreate the entire EntitiyModel each time (not very ideal).

Any ideas?

Thanks!
-Brian

(p.s.-> Let me know if this would be better served as a direct ticket but I wanted to post it to the community for any new people like me that may run into this issue).

2 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Brian Azzi
Top achievements
Rank 2
answered on 14 Feb 2013, 08:33 PM
Very Quick Update:

Of course as soon as I post... I found that i just needed to change my web.config to point to 4.0 instead of 3.5:

providerName="Microsoft.SqlServerCe.Client.4.0"