Set default sync on new story to on

7 posts, 0 answers
  1. Bruce
    Bruce avatar
    8 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2010

    Posted 08 Dec 2010 Link to this post

    Set up a new story, sync'd to TFS and it didn't appear, reviewed set up, no issues. Sync'd again, no luck.

    Found that there is a sync icon in the middle task bar, it shows a checkbox "sync with TFS" that was unchecked.

    I'd recommend this be set to on as most users would want to sync, this was hard to find.

  2. Missing user
    Missing user avatar

    Posted 08 Dec 2010 Link to this post

    Hello Bruce,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    Why is the checkbox not checked by default? We took the approach that not every user story will be mature enough for us to want to sync it to TFS. For example, I may start a user story that I am not 100% sure about, so I do not want this story to get into TFS right now until I flush it out more. When it is more mature and I feel that it is ready for sync. That was our approach.

    But we have gotten some feedback, like yours, that is making us look again at this approach and considering enhancements and maybe some changes. 

    In the meantime, you can go into the ribbon under "Projects > View TFS Sync Information" and in the "What am I syncing" tab you can use the sync filter (first column of the grid) and set it to false - this will show you all stories that are not set to sync.

    Kind regards,
    Ross Sutherland
    the Telerik team
  3. Bruce
    Bruce avatar
    8 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2010

    Posted 08 Dec 2010 Link to this post

    Thanks Ross -

    That makes sense but I want to send all stories to TFS even if they aren't broken down into tasks yet as we view TeamPulse as a front end for TFS and believe all items should sync as a good control over items as they span 2 systems. 

    A switch in company settings to have new stories set to sync by default would make me happy :)
  4. Jonathon Stevens
    Jonathon Stevens avatar
    1 posts
    Member since:
    Aug 2009

    Posted 02 Apr 2011 Link to this post

    I'd agree with OP that it should auto-check the options and allow us to uncheck if we don't want it to sync. 
  5. David Harris
    Admin
    David Harris avatar
    1 posts

    Posted 04 Apr 2011 Link to this post

    Hi Jonathon,

    With the R1 release we will be including a configuration option for just this use, although it will still be defaulted to 'off' and you will need to manually turn it on. Within the project settings XML a new tag will be inserted as follows:

    <SynchronizationSettings AutoSyncNewEntities="false" />

    Modifying the AutoSyncNewEntities value to "true" will tell TeamPulse to always mark all new entities to be synced on creation.

    All the best,
    David Harris
    the Telerik team

  6. stephane
    stephane avatar
    6 posts
    Member since:
    Nov 2010

    Posted 01 Jul 2011 Link to this post

    Maybe you could automatically set the sync to on when we set the story to mature, or when a bug reaches the state approved or higher for instance. This would make the underlying sync details more transparent to us.
  7. Elena Peneva
    Admin
    Elena Peneva avatar
    97 posts

    Posted 01 Jul 2011 Link to this post

    Hi Stephane,

     I have added your suggestion as a Feature Request in our TeamPulse. Still it will need some custom settings per project because the desired maturity is different for different teams.

    Greetings,
    Elena Peneva
    the Telerik team
    TeamPulse R1 Officially Released!
    Do you want to be able to directly talk to our professionals and ask questions about the things that interest you?
    Reserve a seat for the TeamPulse Weekly Live Demo today!
Back to Top