This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

inherited openaccess asp.net webform app - possible to run on visual studio express

2 Answers 26 Views
Getting Started
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
This question is locked. New answers and comments are not allowed.
john
Top achievements
Rank 1
john asked on 19 Nov 2014, 10:11 PM
I have inherited an existing asp.net web form app that uses teleriks openacess and kendoUI and been asked to maintain.

I must admit I have limited experience with ASP.net mainly been a desktop dev, so a lot of this is a bit alien to me.

Anyway, been struggling to get the site to run locally, current exception:

Cannot find resource EntitiesModel.rlinq embedded in
assembly 

Although this file is in the project and contains all the auto generated db entity information

I have done some work with ASP.Net mvc and the EF framework recently, so. my latest avenue of investigation was that I need to run code first / model first routines to actually generate the database. This led me to some articles saying to do this I have to run the visual designer, then I found out it is not available in Visual Studio Express, which is what I use.

Am I heading in the right direction here? If so, it will not be possible for me to generate the database, thus I cannot work on this project?

Or am I completely wrong and it should be possible to get the site working locally?

2 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
john
Top achievements
Rank 1
answered on 19 Nov 2014, 10:13 PM
sorry, my first post displayed an error so I didn't think it posted, I then posted this thread again and realised the 1st post did go through.

Please delete this thread (or ignore or whatever)

Original post
http://www.telerik.com/forums/inherited-openaccess-asp-net-webform-app---possible-to-run-on-visual-studio-express

Doroteya
Telerik team
answered on 24 Nov 2014, 09:51 AM
Hi John,