This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

VS2012 Express & Telerik Controls

2 Answers 202 Views
Installer and VS Extensions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Robert
Top achievements
Rank 1
Robert asked on 27 Dec 2012, 04:16 AM
I have been using VS2008 Pro for several years now.  Today I installed VS2012 Express [for Web] on my computer.  I would like to be able to do 3 things with my Telerik subscription:

1. Install the Telerik controls in the Toolbox so I can use them with a New Project.
  2. Load my existing app into VS2012 and rest assured that the Telerik controls (ie. Treeview, Slider, ListBox, etc.) will just work.
  3. Install and use JustCode, if possible.

#1 & #2 are absolute requirements.  #3 is optional

Further to #1, I right-clicked in the Toolbox area of the VS2012 IDE and chose "Choose Items".  On the ".NET Framework Components" tab of the dialog box I chose Browse.  I navigated here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Telerik\RadControls for ASP.NET AJAX Q3 2012\Bin45
Three files appeared:

1. Telerik.Web.Design.dll
  2. Telerik.Web.UI.dll
  3. Telerik.Web.UI.Skins.dll

I tried clicking on the first two.  It said "Loading the selected file(s)"  Then later, when I pressed OK this message appeared: "The following controls were successfully added to the toolbox but are not enabled in the active designer:"  After that, no Telerik tools appeared in the Toolbox.

While I had hoped I could save the cost of buying VS2012 Professional, this is not a very good start.  Time is Money.

I would like a definitive answer from Telerik Support to my 3 questions above.  Can I do all of that with the Express version of VS2012: Yes or No?

Robert

2 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Andrey
Telerik team
answered on 27 Dec 2012, 04:32 PM
Hi Robert,

I will go straight to your bullets:
#1 - I just tried doing the same and managed to do so successfully. Here's what I did:
    1. Created a new web app targeting .NET 4.5