Upgrade Wizard Creates lib Directory

2 posts, 0 answers
  1. Joel Palmer
    Joel Palmer avatar
    164 posts
    Member since:
    May 2009

    Posted 29 Oct 2013 Link to this post

    Can you explain to me the purpose of creating the lib directory during an upgrade?  This seems to be a new way of operating and it creates havoc with the projects that are shared between multiple solutions.  If I upgrade solution 1 it creates all the reference files then updates the references for project 1 pointing to that directory.  If I upgrade solution it creates another set of the same files but now project 1 points to the new directory.  Shouldn't it just point to the GAC reference?

    Also, this means that every solution ends up adding the same files to Source control because "everything in this directory" belongs in there.
  2. Yana
    Yana avatar
    4547 posts

    Posted 31 Oct 2013 Link to this post

    Hi Joel,

    Thank you for contacting us and sorry for the caused inconvenience.

    You can prevent copying the assemblies in a local lib folder by unchecking the "Add referenced assemblies to solution" option in the Upgrade Wizard (check the attached screenshot). Note that this setting is preserved and it will not be needed to un-check it for each project.

    I hope this helps.

    Learn what features your users use (or don't use) in your application. Know your audience. Target it better. Develop wisely.
    Sign up for Free application insights >>
  3. DevCraft R3 2016 release webinar banner
Back to Top