This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

radMenu backcolor

2 Answers 138 Views
Menu
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Anthony
Top achievements
Rank 1
Anthony asked on 04 Feb 2015, 04:18 PM
I am new to Telerik and trying to learn about the controls. Specifically right now I am using the radMenu control.
I have selected the MetroTouch skin because I like the height and thickness but I dont care for the colors of
it on my web page. So I wanted to start with the color of the whole bar. I tried creating a cssclass called mainmenu
and then set a property of background-color: #3145CE; This did not change the color of the menu bar. So I tried to do
it in aspx and on my <telerik:RadMenu ID="RadMenu1" tag I added backcolor="#3145ce". This also did not work.
Then I found some users asking a different question about changing color of selected menu items and I saw
someone post css coding with:

.RadMenu_Default a.rmSelected
{
    background-color: Red !important;
}

So I thought well maybe if I try this but delete off the a.rmSelected part it will only change the menubar color. No dice!! 
So I am here to get some help on changing the color of the entire bar but still keep the other characteristics of the MetroTouch 
skin or am I just thinking in the wrong way and I have to create some custom skin (uggh please don't tell me that). I am hoping there is a simple way to do this. Thanks! Also where can I find all the documentation about available built in css class names and properties like rmselected and such.

2 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Aneliya Petkova
Telerik team
answered on 05 Feb 2015, 09:08 AM
Hello Anthony,

You can use the following CSS to overwrite the build in styles of the RadMenu in MetroTouch skin:
html .RadMenu_MetroTouch .rmRootGroup {
    background-color: green;
}

html .RadMenu_MetroTouch .rmRootLink {
    border: 1px solid green;
}

Here you may find a video showing the result of this change.