This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

Filter Issues

7 Answers 300 Views
Fiddler Classic
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
Lucas
Top achievements
Rank 1
Lucas asked on 30 Jan 2018, 03:57 PM

Hi,

I have been using Fiddler for several years now and one thing has consistently bothered me.  Whenever I add a filter, say, "Show only processid X", it will filter out everything else. So far so good.  However, if something new comes in (usually visual-studio related) that wasn't on-screen prior to the filter it isn't filtered.

Here are some reproduction steps to see what I mean:

* Open Fiddler.

* Use Composer to write up a post against a local dev API endpoint.

* Wait for other items to show up (via browser, VS, etc.)

* Right-Click the Fiddler post and choose "Show only Process = x"

* Watch everything but that process filter out.

* Wait a few moments.

* In my dev environment, new things keep cropping up.

I have included a screenshot showing that a filter is active, with a new instance of svchost showing up after the filter was applied.  Is there some way that I can tell Fiddler to apply my filter to any future traffic in this session and not just previous traffic?

7 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Lucas
Top achievements
Rank 1
answered on 30 Jan 2018, 04:01 PM
As a note, I've tried searching for filter-related issues, but the only things that come up are related to persisting across Fiddler sessions and that doesn't really apply here. If this has been answered elsewhere please point that out and I'll happily go there for the answer.
Alexander
Telerik team
answered on 01 Feb 2018, 05:33 PM
Hi,

Rather unfortunately, I'm unable to reproduce the problem you have. From your screenshot I can see that you have 13 filters. What are the other 12? It could be reproducible only with some combination of filters. Does this happen when this is the only filter applied?

Regards,
Alexander
Progress Telerik