upgrade rant

4 posts, 1 answers
  1. Kenneth
    Kenneth avatar
    100 posts
    Member since:
    Apr 2014

    Posted 28 Sep Link to this post


    So I learned something about the Telerik app builder that is potentially hazardous to my sanity.  I was informed that the view template needed to be upgraded and anything not within the special comment tags may (read:  will) be lost.

    I had done some modification to code outside of the comment tags…for example the default tab navigation setup by app builder was not appropriate for my app so I have removed all that and replaced it with my own navigation requirements. Zap! All gone after the upgrade.

    I had also needed to modify some of the theme css because it would not allow view titles to remain centered if I added a button to the title bar, at the time I knew that could come back to haunt me and sure enough that got zapped.

    Inane things, like view data-titles were changed and the removed data-layout was re-added.

    Obviously all auto-generated code was zapped and re-created as though a new app were started…surely it must be recognized that sometimes this auto-generated code may need to be modified and the comment block mechanism of protecting user code is inadequate in those cases.

    Fortunately I had a local copy and after I reconstructed the app I placed EVERYTHING between the custom comment tags to prevent this from happening in the future.

    Now I understand the need to upgrade auto-generated code, and much of my new code was between the comment tags, but as mentioned some was not.

    So I can only hope this is a rare occurrence.


  2. Answer
    Stoyan Stratev
    Stoyan Stratev avatar
    1 posts
    Member since:
    Apr 2003

    Posted 30 Sep in reply to Kenneth Link to this post

    Hi Kenneth,

    The views service is regularly updated with new code generators every couple of months. After each update, we have to recreate the whole mobile application. This is needed because a lot of the code is connected (e.g. styles in the css files and selector names in the layout) and we cannot just generate parts of the app. Note, that you do not need to upgrade your app if you no longer plan to use the Views service. You can just continue to work in AppBuilder (Code) and ignore the prompt to upgrade. Also, if you accidentally do the upgrade and your code is overwritten you can always go back, because we will commit all changes just before doing the upgrade. Simply open the Version Control menu, go to History and hit the Reset button on the most recent "Changes from Views service" commit. Everything will be restored just like it was before doing the upgrade.



  3. Kenneth
    Kenneth avatar
    100 posts
    Member since:
    Apr 2014

    Posted 30 Sep in reply to Stoyan Stratev Link to this post

    OK that's good to know.  I knew I could ignore the upgrade request at that specific time but it was unclear that it was completely optional.  Now that I am aware of how it works I can mitigate my stress in the future.

    In plain old Visual Studio which I am mostly familiar there are different project types that create program structure for you, and they also provide an 'Empty' template which provides a blank canvas.  Perhaps a similar mechanism in App Builder could ID a project as not-upgradable.

  4. Kaloyan
    Kaloyan avatar
    871 posts

    Posted 03 Oct Link to this post

    Hello Kenneth,

    Thank you for the feedback. We will definitely take it into consideration for future versions.

    Also, please let us know if you will require further assistance.

    Telerik by Progress
    Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items
Back to Top