Still no close buttons?

10 posts, 0 answers
  1. Steve
    Steve avatar
    1851 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2008

    Posted 27 Jul 2010 Link to this post

    Adding team members to a project, there's still no "save or close" buttons?  I know they're superficial but I feel that my changes on the form aren't saved if I just click the X on the window...
  2. David Harris
    Admin
    David Harris avatar
    1 posts

    Posted 27 Jul 2010 Link to this post

    Hello Steve,

    Thanks again for your feedback, Steve. This was a design decision that may be reviewed if the consensus opinion seems to favor your opinion.

    Regards,
    David Harris
    the Telerik team
    Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items
  3. Steve
    Steve avatar
    1851 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2008

    Posted 27 Jul 2010 Link to this post

    Ok well lets say I go in there and checkoff 20 people, but OOPS, made a mistake and want to cancel the changes...I can't really do that, Id have to remember what they were before...I would assume Save would close and the X would cancel the popup
  4. David Harris
    Admin
    David Harris avatar
    1 posts

    Posted 27 Jul 2010 Link to this post

    Hi Steve,

    Yes in your scenario you would need to manually undo your changes.

    Kind regards,
    David Harris
    the Telerik team
    Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items
  5. Steve
    Steve avatar
    1851 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2008

    Posted 17 Nov 2010 Link to this post

    Hey guys....This is still an issue, any plans to fix?

    We're still intuitively wanting to click save or cancel when changing data...clicking an x to close a window makes it seem like changes will be lost
  6. Ryan
    Admin
    Ryan avatar
    164 posts

    Posted 17 Nov 2010 Link to this post

    Hi Steve,

    For our just released Q3 2010, we have added a saving indicator in the top left corner of the app. It looks like a floppy disk with a green circle around it. When the app is saving something it briefly changes to a yellow circle with the disk flashing. We hope that this helps assure that your changes have been saved. Your feedback was one of the factors that motivated us to add this feature.

    For a little more background, the behavior of these dialogs in TeamPulse is not unique to the tool. For example, the configuration and settings screens in Mac OS do not have any apply, save, or cancel buttons. The settings get applied as soon as you choose them. I understand that this behavior may seem strange at first.

    Sincerely yours,
    Ryan
    the Telerik team
    New release coming up this week! Sign up to see what's new in Telerik TeamPulse Q3 2010!
    Thursday, November 18, 2010 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM EST: Register today!
  7. Steve
    Steve avatar
    1851 posts
    Member since:
    Dec 2008

    Posted 17 Nov 2010 Link to this post

    Ok, well to be fair here, this looks nothing at all like an OSX app :)  It looks more like WinForms with the ribbonbar, etc

    I see the save icon now, I did see it before but thought it was literally a save button that just didn't work....but I'll try and get into the habit of looking.
  8. Dave
    Dave avatar
    3 posts
    Member since:
    Oct 2011

    Posted 25 Oct 2011 Link to this post

    I too agree that there should be a Save and a Cancel button.

    I just started using TeamPulse, and sat there for a long time looking to see where the Save button was after entering a story.  I didn't want to hit the red X since that typically is a cancel action.

    And yes, after reading this post I went back to the screen and looked and the word 'saving' appears briefly in red as data entry is completed in a given field.  But that is not very noticeable,  plus in many cases one would want the option to actually cancel a change (for example a big change to the description) and revert to what was there previously.  Can't be done.
  9. Dave
    Dave avatar
    3 posts
    Member since:
    Oct 2011

    Posted 25 Oct 2011 Link to this post

    And further interesting that in the Project Settings / Advanced there are both Save and Cancel buttons.

    So apparently the underlying assumption is that you might screw up the settings and realize it before hitting Save (hence the Cancel) but that you can't apparently screw up a story, task, etc badly enough that you couldn't repair it by reversing your changes manually.  Not sure I agree with that mindset.
  10. Jordan
    Admin
    Jordan avatar
    123 posts

    Posted 26 Oct 2011 Link to this post

    Hi Dave,

     Thanks for your honest feedback. I see value in your point of view about auto saving. We don't plan to change it for now. Some of the customers like it. Also it will take time to change the existing logic and we prefer to invest that time in some new features. This doesn't mean that we will not add Save option for the rest of the screen but for now it is with lower priority. We try to provide additional functionality like history and notifications and from them you can see all the changes. We will add permission for the new release at the end of the year and you will be able to restrict the access to the some of the functionality. 
    If you have other suggestions or feedback do not hesitate to contact us.

    Regards,
    Jordan
    the Telerik team
    Idea and Feedback Portal is here!
    Join us for the Portal Release Webinar and be among the first to see it.
    Reserve a seat today!
Back to Top