This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

How to use stored procedure in 2010 Q3?

7 Answers 127 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
This question is locked. New answers and comments are not allowed.
wg
Top achievements
Rank 1
wg asked on 09 Jan 2011, 05:35 PM
Hi,

I am new to Open Access 2010 Q3. When connecting to SQL server, I can create a Entity Diagrams like Entity Framework. I also can add the stored procedure. 

But how can I use the stored procedure? I have made some researches with tutorials and video. Looks I need find a Mapping Wizard. Howerver, I can not find option like "Reverse Mapping Wizard" in 2010 Q3.

After installed Open Access package, there is only certain menus like "Add Domain Model", "Add Domain Services" and disabled "Update reference". Did I do something wrong?

btw: The project was created by "Silverlight Business Application" template with Visual Studio 2010.

Thanks,
Bill

7 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Accepted
PetarP
Telerik team
answered on 11 Jan 2011, 05:23 PM
Hi wg,

When working with OpenAccess you are given two possibilities. One is to work with our new Entity Diagrams approach much like Entity framework. The other is the old reverse mapping or the reverse mapping wizard to which you are referring. The two approaches are completely different and cannot be used together.
As to how to switch between the two approaches I advice you to have a look at this blog post as it describes the entire process in details.
Should you decide to use the Entity Diagrams approach I would advice you to have a look into this help topic as it describes the process of importing a stored procedure.
A good starting point for working with stored procedures and the old reverse mapping would be this help topic.
I hope that my answer has been useful to you. Should you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Petar
the Telerik team