Github Overwrite my entire project... please help!

3 posts, 0 answers
  1. Frank
    Frank avatar
    10 posts
    Member since:
    Mar 2013

    Posted 01 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    I had my project pretty much completed, and decided to put it into github.  Created a repository there, and tried to do a push.  It said I needed to do a pull first.  Well, ok... so I did.  My entire project is now gone.

    Please, can you help my by restoring the project to a previous state?

  2. Frank
    Frank avatar
    10 posts
    Member since:
    Mar 2013

    Posted 01 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    Oh yeah, this is urgent too :)
  3. Steve
    Admin
    Steve avatar
    10941 posts

    Posted 02 Sep 2013 Link to this post

    Hello Frank,

    You have most likely chosen to create your repository with a README.md file and that is why it requested a pull first. Either way, the pull operation cannot delete your project and if there was a README.md already in this project, it would have been indicated as conflict that you should resolve manually. So, in short, we're not sure what has gone wrong with your project, but a pull/push operation cannot cause the damage you refer to.

    If you already had commits in your project, you can use the History to rollback to a previous state of your repository. If not, we would need the name of your project and the date from which you want the backup.

    Regards,
    Steve
    Telerik

    Looking for tips & tricks directly from the Icenium team? Check out our blog!
    Share feedback and vote for features on our Feedback Portal.
Back to Top