This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.

"The source of the report definition has not been specified"

26 Answers 1065 Views
General Discussions
This is a migrated thread and some comments may be shown as answers.
søren
Top achievements
Rank 1
søren asked on 10 Nov 2008, 02:19 PM
I am new to Telerik Reporting.....

In my App_code-folder I have created a new report called Product.cs, I have choosen Telerik Reporting/ReportWizard to create a new report with some data in. But no matter what I do, I get the above mentioned error.

Hope someone can help me.
Akshay Shah
Top achievements
Rank 1
commented on 15 Jun 2021, 09:50 AM

We get the same error in production and when users logout and login and open report again it works, is this some session lost or what please guide.
Neli
Telerik team
commented on 18 Jun 2021, 10:08 AM

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with our product. There are two options that I would suggest:

1) In 15.1.21.616, we added support for keeping the client session alive in WPF, Windows Forms, and HTML5-based report viewers.

2) You can increase the value of the ClientSharingTimeout property.

26 Answers, 1 is accepted

Sort by
Steve
Telerik team
answered on 10 Nov 2008, 02:36 PM
Hello søren,

Please follow the best practices we have outlined and create your report in a class library that is later referenced in your app/site instead of placing your report in a website directly.

Sincerely yours,
Steve
the Telerik team

Check out Telerik Trainer, the state of the art learning tool for Telerik products.
søren
Top achievements
Rank 1
answered on 10 Nov 2008, 02:55 PM
THX!!! I have been watching your videos but not found any solutions. this helped. It is working.

One more question.

I have a field called Description and it is in my database. The text is HTML. How to show that with formatting?
Steve
Telerik team
answered on 10 Nov 2008, 03:19 PM
Hello søren,